ALIVE FOREVER

When I found out you died it broke my heart
Telling our friends was the hardest part
You know it fucked me up because we had just talked
That’s how I started learning how to live with loss

I’m gonna keep you alive forever,
Telling all the stories that we wrote together
So long, it’s been good to know ya
I’m keeping you in my mind, I’m not gonna let you die

We buried you and they put you down
Irish wake, we passed the jars around
Reflected on the good life you led
And let the brighter memories take the pain away

Now I sing the songs that bring you back to me
And invoke your name where I wish you could be
You took a part of me, I took a part of you
Kept it inside of me to help me through

Leave a Reply

